STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT
C9-81-1206

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF
THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER
REGISTRATION
The Minnesota Client Security Board has recommended to this court that the
Rules of the Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration be amended to suspend for
one year the collection of the lawyer registration fee allocated to the board.

The court has reviewed the recommendation and is advised in the premises.
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached amendments to the Rules of the
Supreme Court on Lawyer Registration be, and the same are, prescribed and
promulgated to be effective with the October 1, 2008 registration cycle deadline

and shall expire with the July 1, 2009 registration cycle deadline.

Dated: July 22, 2008 BY THE COURT:

OFFICE OF
APPELLATE GOURTS BT Mg
JUL 22 2008 Chief Justice
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RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT ON LAWYER REGISTRATION

o

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A.  Required Fee.

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission
to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, to defray the expenses of administering
continuing legal education, to provide an adequate client security fund, to help fund
legal services programs, and to help fund a lawyers assistance program, each lawyer
and each judge must pay to the Lawyer Registration Office an annual registration fee.

B. Active Statuses.

Each lawyer and judge must pay an annual registration fee of $2215209 or such
lesser sum as is set forth in the following sections.

1. Active Status - Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge on active status who certifies that the lawyer’s or
judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less
than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $3965184.

2, Active Status - Lawyers on Full-Time Military Duty.

A lawyer or judge on full-time duty in the armed forces of the United
States must pay an annual registration fee of $110.

3. Active Status - Lawyers on Full-Time Military Duty - Income Less

Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge on full-time duty in the armed forces of the United
States who certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources,
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an

annual registration fee of $85.



4, Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three
years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, must pay an
annual registration fee of-$100388.

5. Active Status - Lawyers Admitted Fewer Than Three Years -

Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge who has been admitted to practice law fewer than three
years in each and every licensing jurisdiction, including Minnesota, and certifies
that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income
of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of
$87:50575.50.

C.  Inactive Statuses.

1. Inactive Status - Out-of-State.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or
before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the
lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (ii) is
currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota, and
(iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota must pay an annual
registration fee of $182.

2. Inactive Status - Qut-of-State - Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer or judge who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or
before the date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the
lawyer or judge (i) is a permanent resident of a state other than Minnesota, (i) is
currently in good standing, (iii) does not hold judicial office in Minnesota, (iv) is
not engaged in the practice of law in Minnesota, and (v) certifies that the
lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a

spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an annual registration fee of $157.
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3. Inactive Status - Minnesota.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the
date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is a
resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not
hold judicial office in this state, and (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in
this state must pay an annual registration fee of $182$170.

4, Inactive Status - Minnesota - Income Less Than $25,000.

A lawyer who files with the Lawyer Registration Office on or before the
date the lawyer’s registration fee is due an affidavit stating that the lawyer (i) is
resident of the State of Minnesota, (ii) is currently in good standing, (iii) does not
hold judicial office in this state, (iv) is not engaged in the practice of law in this
state, and (v) certifies that the lawyer’s or judge’s gross income from all sources,
excluding the income of a spouse, is less than $25,000 per year must pay an
annual registration fee of $+57$145.

*Hk

D.  Allocation of Fees.

Fees paid pursuant to this rule are allocated according to the following schedule:
(1)  Payments of $221$209 are allocated as follows:

® $23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

° $6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

° $122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

® $12%0 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008

through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

o $50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

* $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

(2)  Payments of $3965184 are allocated as follows:



®)

(4)

©)

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$122 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$1240 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $182$170 are allocated as follows:

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board,;

$32%0 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

prograr.

Payments of $157$145 are allocated as follows:

-]

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$83 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$12$0 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $110 are allocated as follows:
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(6)

7)

(8)

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $85 are allocated as follows:

L]

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

5 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $100$88 are allocated as follows:

@

]

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;

$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;

$12%0 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);

$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.

Payments of $8%50%75.50are allocated as follows:

$23 to the State Board of Law Examiners;
$6 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education;

$26 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board;



° $12%0 to the Client Security Fund (no fee collected October 1, 2008
through July 1, 2009 registration deadline cycles);
° $12.50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee; and

° $8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance

program.
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